Juicing Day 1 & 2

I owe all of you an update on my juicing experiences. I’ve decided to shorten it to just a 5 day juice fast, which means I’m almost halfway done (I ended up starting on Sunday instead of Saturday). It is much hard than I expected. I feel tempted all the time to just go eat something, but it is getting easier. Daniel was doing the juice fast with me but I allowed him to eat since he needs significantly more calories than I do, and he wasn’t getting enough from the juice. However, he is keeping me motivated! Definitely have a juice buddy to help you stay on track!

Here’s a little Q & A of how it is going so far:

What kind of juicer do you use?
I use the Breville Juice Fountain Plus. I bought it off Amazon.  It’s really easy to use! And the clean up isn’t so bad. A plastic bag to catch the pulp makes it faster. And the brush provided does a great job of getting things clean.

How hard is it?
Juicing simplifies things in a sense because you don’t have to worry about making a meal, you know exactly what you’re going to have.  And once you get the hang of it, it doesn’t take that long to make. Just prep everything and send it through the juicer. It’s actually kind of fun to make different concoctions. My favorite are the sweeter ones, obviously =)

What recipes do you use?
I first followed Joe’s reboot recipes at rebootwithjoe.com but now I mix it up. Daniel and I even made pumpkin juice! Warning: nothing like pumpkin pie. I was a little disappointed. We added an orange and apple and I believe some ginger to it. I can’t really remember. But man that pumpkin flavor is strong!

My favorite recipe was with an orange, pear, peach, strawberries, carrot, and a handful or two of spinach. Reminded me of a smoothie!

fruity juice

Here’s what our cart looked like when we first bought groceries for it. It is the most produce I’ve ever bought at once.

produce galore

What’s in the cart:

  • Pineapples
  • Grapes
  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Cucumber
  • Zucchini
  • Carrots
  • Ginger root
  • Mint leaves
  • Strawberries
  • Pears
  • Peaches
  • Oranges
  • Lemons
  • Blueberries
  • Romaine
  • Red, yellow, and orange bell peppers

Whew! I think that’s everything!

How do you feel?
The first day I felt EXTREMELY tired. It was so hard to do anything. I was also starving because I allowed too much time between juicing. DON’T DO THAT. Never let yourself get hungry. If you do, you’ll be more tempted to cheat and eat something. I’ve been having a juice every 2-3 hours. Sometimes more often than that. Listening to your body is key.

I’ve also learned to drink A TON of water. Not literally a ton, but several glasses. At first I wasn’t drinking much water at all because I just didn’t even think about it. After you drink something you don’t immediately go for water, right? Well think of it like a meal, you take a few bites, then you have a sip of water. So whenever I have juice, I also have a glass of water. It has helped me to stay fuller longer. The downside is going to the bathroom every hour. But hey, it’s all the name of hydration.

Any weight loss?
I have actually dropped some weight these past couple days. Sunday when I started, I was 128.5 lb. This morning I weighed 125.0 lb.  That’s 3.5 lbs in 2.5 days! However, I ate quite a bit Saturday night which probably contributed to my weight Sunday morning. It was the Chili Crawl in Manhattan which is the anniversary of me and my friend, Corey, discovering THE SANDWICH! The Chili Crawl is an event each year put on by Aggieville Optimist to benefit youth programs. I actually didn’t get a ticket this year (they sold out!), but luckily our friend, Sam, bought one and was generous enough to share bites of her chili samples! What it is is some bars and restaurants in Aggieville (bar district in Manhattan) make their versions of chili for you to sample and then you vote on your favorite. Once again, my favorite was Wahoo’s. It’s always so good! After the Crawl, we stopped at Taco Lucha for dinner (they’re in Aggieville but weren’t participating in the Chili Crawl).

I had this:

tacos

A buffalo chicken taco on the right and a pork carnita taco on the left. For an appetizer we also had the Chipotle Raspberry Black Bean Dip. Unfortunately I didn’t get a photo, but if you want to make your own at home, try this recipe! Honestly, I like our home version better than the original! They didn’t add enough chipotle raspberry sauce!

Ok, here’s a picture of our version, just because it’s so tasty and needs to be seen and heard eaten!

chipotle raspberry black bean dip

Honestly, what is really getting me through this Juice Fast is our plans for Friday. Since my fast will be over by then, Daniel and I decided we would make a feast! And let me just say, we have a great, creative idea that incorporates the Chipotle Raspberry Black Bean Dip! I can’t wait to share it with you once we make it!

We also plan to carve our pumpkins Friday, so I’m pretty pumped for that! Not sure what design I will do, but I assure you it will be Spook-tacular! Haha.

Questions

Anybody else juicing lately or have tried it before? What did you think of it?

Leave a comment